Utah Supreme Court

The Utah Supreme Court is the highest court in the state of Utah. It is composed of five justices, who are appointed by the governor and confirmed by the state senate. The current justices are:

  • Chief Justice Matthew B. Durrant
  • Associate Chief Justice John A. Pearce
  • Justice Paige Petersen
  • Justice Diana Hagen
  • Justice Jill Pohlman

The Utah Supreme Court hears appeals from lower courts in the state. It also has original jurisdiction over a limited number of cases, such as those involving the death penalty. The court’s decisions are final, unless they are appealed to the United States Supreme Court.

The Utah Supreme Court is located in Salt Lake City. Its chambers are housed in the Utah State Capitol building.

Leave a Comment